Screening & Meds

Back in January both the egg donor and I completed our screening assessments.  I did a full physical, hysterosonogram (saline is pumped into the uterus and an ultrasound is done to check that everything is normal), blood work, urine sample, and met with a social worker.  The medical part was about as fun as it sounds.  Even H got in on the action and had some blood work done.

The meeting with the social worker went well.  We chatted for 2 hours about our home life, our relationship with C&J, and many other things.  She gave us some things to think about, including how we’ll talk to our daughter’s teachers and other acquaintances.  The last thing we want is for someone to see me pregnant and asking her about her baby brother or sister, leaving her completely confused. The social worker has 2 children and both were carried by a surrogate, so she had a lot of great insight to offer.  I left the meeting feeling even more confident in our decision.

I left the clinic with a big bag of meds and received my protocol instructions a couple of weeks ago. I wasn’t really given clear information about what each of the meds does, so I have been trying to do a lot of my own research.  If you can imagine, the internet has conflicting information, so this is the gist of what I have learned through my own research and information given by other surrogates:

  1. Lupron Depot – This was an injection I gave myself (yep, myself!) once. It basically stops my cycle so I have a “clean slate” for the transfer cycle.
  2. Estrace – These are pills I will take twice per day.  Estrace is what will help “fluff up” my lining, since I won’t be ovulating on my own.
  3. Doxycycline – This is an antibiotic usually used to treat UTIs, bacterial and sexually transmitted infections.  In my case, I’ll take it for a week prior to transfer to make sure I’m not starting out with any infections that haven’t previously been identified.
  4. Progesterone – I’ll be taking progesterone in both suppository and injection form.  This is the hormone that will help my body prepare for and stay pregnant.  Since I have taken meds to suppress my own cycle, there is nothing telling it that it could or should be pregnant.  Progesterone will do just that, and if all goes well I will continue with daily injections throughout the first trimester.  At that point, a placenta should be formed and will produce the hormones needed all on its own.

10561744_784654455850_6080437335246631020_n

So that is a basic rundown of the meds that I will be taking.  A week prior to transfer I will be doing an ultrasound to check the thickness of my lining and to make sure the Estrace is doing its job.  A couple of days after that the egg donor will have her retrieval, and 5 days later is transfer day!

A few days after I received my protocol a package came in the mail for me.  C&J put together a “Surro Survival Kit” full of all sorts of goodies to help with the transfer and the first few weeks of pregnancy.  It was so sweet and I can’t wait to wear the lucky transfer t-shirt!

12573952_786852545860_3013711900326866931_n

I’m very excited to get the transfer done and get this show on the road, but right now the thing I am most excited for is to finally meet C&J face-to-face.  We all fly in the day before transfer and I am really looking forward to spending some time with them.  We FaceTimed with them the other night and chatting with them again solidified that we made the right decision!

One thought on “Screening & Meds

Leave a Reply

