Merry Christmas!

December is always a crazy month for me, so I am really not surprised that I left the blog unattended for the past 3 weeks.  But, I do have a few updates before we dive into the hecticness (that’s not a word) we call Christmas.

At the end of November I got up the nerve to tell my parents.  My mom was coming over for coffee, and heeding the advice of my sister, I decided that I needed to tell her sooner than later before finding out elsewhere.  I was nervous, but in the end I was blown away with her reaction. I was expecting concern, but instead I was on the receiving end of love and support.  She asked some questions about C&J and how the process works, and has offered to accompany me to any appointments that my H can’t make it to.  The most surprising part of our conversation was when she opened up about a friend’s struggle with infertility.  My mom had offered to carry a baby for them back when my sister and I were young. Nearly 10 year later her friend went on to have two healthy children, but I found that tidbit of information very interesting and encouraging.  She got it.  She felt the same things I did when finding out a friend was dealing with infertility and offered the exact same thing.  Not only did I feel supported, but I felt understood.  And since the topic of surrogacy is still pretty taboo, feeling understood like that is rare.

My dad’s reaction later that evening was about what I expected.  He asked some (funny) questions and said that he supported me, and that was that!  My daughter was hopped up on sugar and was quite distracting, so we didn’t get too much of a chance to talk in-depth.  I am sure he’ll have a lot more questions as things progress.

In early December C&J went for their screening and met with their lawyer.  J got his part of the process taken care of and otherwise it sounds like things went well.  Our lawyers are now working on the contract that we’ll all sign before the transfer.

My screening appointment is scheduled and our flights and hotels are all booked. Both myself and the egg donor will do our screening at the beginning of January, then once that all comes back clear (cross your fingers!) we’ll figure out the plan for the transfer.  C said that the doctors were guessing at late March/early April, but we are hoping that things happen a bit sooner.  Time will tell!

Anyways, I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!  2016 is looking to be a very exciting year for both our family and C&J’s!

 

Leave a Reply

