The “dating” process

I have never used an online dating site, but I suspect what we’re going through right now is a lot like it.  The service we have decided to use has a website where you can log in to view intended parent and surrogate profiles, then decide if you want to start communicating with them and eventually match with them.  You have to decide who you want to talk to based on a few pictures and a snippet of information, then send the initial awkward email, rejection emails, and kind of “court” people until you decide whether or not you want to take it to the next step.  It has been a very interesting process!

I have been emailing back and forth with C from the surrogacy support service that I talked about last post, and things are going great.  We have really connected, and she has stated in her emails that she would like us to match.  She knows that we are still talking with the local couple, but if they decide against surrogacy, they would be honoured to have me help them grow their family.  When I read that on Tuesday night I got teary.

C&J are close to matching with an egg donor (C is unable to produce eggs), and J has an appointment in December to start his part of the process.  Things are moving along for them, and it’s all very exciting.

We’re still talking to the local couple, but I don’t know if that is going to pan out. If they decide against surrogacy and as long as it’s soon and C&J haven’t found someone else, I’m really hoping to match with them.  We’ll see where things go!

Leave a comment